BREAKING! INEC Registers 23 New Political Parties


The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has registered 23 new political parties bringing the total number of registered political parties in Nigeria to 91.

Some of the parties include: The Advanced Alliance Party, Liberation Movement, Save Nigeria Congress, United Patriots, Youth Party, We The People Nigeria, among others. See the complete list below.


According to INEC, the newly registered political parties will receive their Certificates of Registration from the Commission on August 16th, 2018 at its headquarters.

SEE ALSO:  Uche Jombo Questions Nigerian Senators on Receiving N1.2m as Hardship Allowance

Meanwhile, the deadline for the Continuous Voter Registration was extended by two weeks.

According to INEC the deadline for registration was primarily fixed for August 17th in order to have enough time to make all necessary preparations before 2019 but after several appeals by Nigerians, the extension was considered.

SEE ALSO:  NYSC Increases Corps Members’ Transport Allowance | Corpers Urged To Join Army

National Commissioner and Member, Voter Education and Publicity Committee, Mohammed Kudu Haruna said as at August 11th, the Commission had registered an additional 12,139,061 new voters and the exercise will continue in all the designated registration centres until August 31st 2018.

Registration will take place every day between 9:00 a.m and 5:00 p.m except on public holidays.