Gernot Rohr Invites 23 Players For South Africa, Uganda Ties


Potential debutants and returning players will make the Super Eagles’ trip as Gernot Rohr and his team prepare for next month’s crunch tie.

In-form Arsenal winger Alex Iwobi and striker Odion Ighalo lead Nigeria’s 23-man squad for their African Cup of Nations qualifiers against South Africa and Uganda friendly, with Villarreal starlet Samuel Chukwueze getting his maiden invite.

Al Nasr forward Ahmed Musa will carry on with captain duty with John Obi Mikel missing out once again. The Tianjin Teda midfielder has yet to return to national team assignment since Nigeria crashed out from the 2018 World Cup in Russia.

Also, Ogenyi Onazi and Shehu Abdullahi are missing from the list. The duo returned to their club from the last international break with injuries. The latter only got to play few minutes against Libya in Uyo before being replaced with Ola Aina, while the former missed out on the doubleheader, thus leaving Rohr with three midfielders – Mikel Agu returning to the mix – to prosecute November 17th and 20th games.

SEE ALSO:  Nigeria’s Brian Idowu Devastated After World Cup Exit, Hails 'Best Player' Lionel Messi

Meanwhile, joining former U17 World Cup winner, Chukwueze for a potential debut is FC Ifeanyi Ubah defender Olamilekan Adeleye while Sporting Charleroi striker Victor Osimhen has been given a chance to replicate his form in Nigeria colours.

Surprisingly, Henry Onyekuru and Chidozie Awaziem have been dropped to the standby list which includes three Nigeria Professional Football League stars.

Nigeria sit top of Group E with nine points from four games while Stuart Baxter’s side are second in the group, trailing by two points.


The Super Eagles will look to get a victory over Bafana Bafana having lost the first leg 2-0 in Uyo.

The game is billed for November 17th at the FNB Stadium and three days later, the three-time African champions entertain the Cranes of Uganda at the Stephen Keshi Stadium, Asaba.

Checkout the full list below.

Goalkeepers: Ikechukwu Ezenwa, Daniel Akpeyi, Francis Uzoho.

Defenders: William Troost-Ekong, Leon Balogun, Kenneth Omeruo, Brian Idowu, Olamilekan Adeleye, Semi Ajayi, Jamilu Collins, Ola Aina.

Midfielders: John Ogu, Mikel Agu, Oghenekaro Etebo.

Forwards: Odion Ighalo, Ahmed Musa, Victor Osimhen, Alex Iwobi, Kelechi Iheanacho, Samuel Kalu, Isaac Success, Moses Simon, Samuel Chukwueze.

Standby: Henry Onyekuru, Chidozie Awaziem, Sunday Adetunji, Nyima Nwagua, Junior Lokosa.